His Burden is Light

Published February 3, 2013 by nebraskajones2013

His Burden is Light

When I was in my youthful years, I benefitted greatly in life because my mother was so faithful in not only taking us to church, but exposing us to so much of the gospel and the great music and art associated with the Christian faith.

As I grew into my young adulthood, I had the pleasure and privilege of singing in church choirs, as well as the Concert Choir at the college I attended. And among the many pieces we performed, none thrilled my soul quite so much as Handel’s Messiah!

The lyrics were so uplifting, faith-building, and powerful that they are practically indellibly etched into my neural network.

His Yoke is easy, His burden is light. For the mouth of The Lord hath SPOKEN IT!!!

As we settle into the roles God has put us in, in ministry, in worship, in our daily lives, I find these words never far from my mind. He promises so many things, and in all my years, I find that life only PROVES HIM to be true to His promises, and we KNOW we walk in victory, for He has PROCLAIMED it!

Of course, growing up a Baptist, the hymnal holds many treasures which seem like old friends when I hear them today.

One such hymn is “‘Tis So Sweet to Trust in Jesus”.

The lyric”Jesus! Jesus! How I trust Him, how I’ve proved Him O’er and O’er. Jesus! Jesus! Precious Jesus! Oh, for faith to trust Him more!!”

In our daily lives, we see His Word proven over and over. Every day is proof of His love, His grace, His mercy, and His holiness.

When you accept the Holy Spirit, by taking Jesus as your Lord and Savior, your life becomes a record of God’s mercy, and you will come to know with surety that God’s word is true, and it comes to life, and remains relevant in the lives of His children, just as He promised it would.

Earthly scholars who do not believe cannot begin to comprehend the wonder of God’s word. God’s word transcends languages, it transcends translations, and it remains wholly and completely divine, because the Holy Spirit reveals it to His people.

We do not walk according to the flesh any more. And if we will live in obedience, humility and reverently seek God’s will for us, we will become mighty through Him.

Jesus told us that WE would do greater things than HE did.

John 14:12:
“Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.”

How or when I do not know, but I know it is true. HOW do I know it is true?

“FOR THE MOUTH OF THE LORD HATH SPOKEN IT!”

Leave a Reply

