Beware of False Prophets

Published February 10, 2013 by nebraskajones2013

Beware of False Prophets: Are Mormons real Christians?

30-some-odd years ago, I was 19 years old, a bachelor, living in my own apartment thousands of miles from my parent’s home, and settling into my life as an independent young man in Anchorage, Alaska.

One day, a pair of younger Mormon ‘missionaries’ knocked on my door. They were there to try and present to me their “faith”.

But what they did not know was that I was and continue to be a Christian, evangelical, and well-versed for someone as young as I was. When they began their presentation, I felt lead to instead turn it around on them and present my faith to them. And one of the things Jesus instructed us to do in these days, in this age, is to try the spirits, to winnow out those who are not of God.

The Holy Spirit is the all-powerful presence in my life, and only those who are washed truly in the Blood of Jesus can give utterance to the statement which follows: Jesus Christ is alive in the flesh today,

That same body which bore the scars from where he was nailed to the cross, is the body which he lives in even now, at the right hand of the Father in Heaven,

And this simple way of trying the spirit is 100 percent accurate, I have discovered. These young men looked like the proverbial deer-in-the-headlights. They could not speak the words. I gave them several chances. They went away with their tails tucked, I am sure they were bothered and confused.

I am sure many people get deceived into thinking that Mormonism is a valid Christian faith, but the truth is they are deceived, and have fallen into a cult which has tried very hard to imitate Christianity, and often Catholicism, in the hope they can draw people in to an outwardly visible world where they promote traditional family values, presenting a form of godliness, but denying the power of the Holy Spirit, and denying the deity of Jesus.

My faith consists of the knowledge that I am a sinner, that God took pity on me when He saw that I was a sinner, and that He loved me so much that in order to make a way for me to have fellowship with Him, He took the form of a man, and He, born of a virgin, fulfilled the prophecies of the Old Testament, He lived a sinless life, He knew whose Son He was, and He proclaimed His own gospel, and created a new covenant, a new means by which sinners could be reconciled with God.

Jesus chose the Cross, for my sake. He bore my shame, my sins, and He died for my sake! He was buried in a tomb, a large stone served as the immovable barrier that separated the living from the dead. Even so, He rolled the stone away!

Jesus was resurrected on the third day by His Heavenly Father. He was alive. His body had been glorified by God, and though he had the scars of his crucifixion, His body was now incorruptible. And that same body, inhabited by God’s only begotten Son, is in the mercy seat, hearing our prayers and petitions before God the Father.

THAT is my faith. THAT is who I am, and what I proclaim as the Gospel. I believe what Jesus said, that many would come in His name, claiming to be the reincarnation of Him, and would produce signs and wonders to deceive many. THAT is why it is important to TRY the spirits, Understand that by trying the spirits, you are obeying Jesus. If that offends somebody, it is not you that offends, but Jesus Christ in you!

What a privilege it is to carry His gospel, to share a testimony that He alone, Jesus Christ alone is THE WAY, THE TRUTH and THE LIFE, and that NO MAN comes to reconciliation with God the Father, except he confesses with his mouth, that JESUS CHRIST is LORD, that HE LIVES EVEN TODAY, and that He is coming again very quickly!

Leave a Reply

